Alaska Collision Repair, Important Facts for 2016
December 3rd, 2015 by Eli P
If you get involved in an auto collision in Alaska, there are many issues to consider. Do you have to report the accident? Who do you report it to? What happens in you don’t file a report? Knowing this information can save you money and avert possible jail time that can result from unknowingly violating Alaska state law.
Reporting a Collision
In Alaska, you must file a report for any accident that causes property damage of $2,000 or more or that results in bodily injury or death. If the collision occurs within an Alaska municipality, report the accident to the local police department. If it occurs outside of a municipality, report it to the state Department of Public Safety. Either way, Alaska law requires the driver to report the accident by the quickest means of communication.
If you get injured and can’t report the collision, you are not required to make a report for as long as you remain incapacitated. However, if a passenger in the vehicle is not injured, he or she is required to make the report. If you do not own the vehicle, the owner must submit a report within five days after learning of the accident.
Filing a Written Report
If a police offer investigates the collision, you are not required to file a written report. Otherwise you must file a written report no later than 10 days after the accident, sending it to the Alaska Department of Administration or the local police department if the accident occurred within a municipality. To obtain the accident report form, contact the local police department, the Alaska Department of Public Safety, or the Alaska DMV.
What Happens If You Don’t File a Report?
By law, failure to report an accident in Alaska is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $200, 90 days in jail, or both. Your driver’s license will be suspended until the report is filed, and for up to 30 days after the report is filed. Filing a false accident report can result in even more severe penalties, including a fine of up to $1,000, a year in jail, or both.
Notifying Your Insurance Company
Alaska state law does not require you to report a car accident to your insurance company. However, most automobile insurance policies require you to report any accident to the insurer shortly after the accident. This allows the insurance company to begin processing any claims that arise from the collision as soon as possible. If you fail to notify your insurer within a reasonable amount of time, they may deny any claims related to the collision.
One Weird Alaska Law
Just about every state seems to have one or more driving laws that make you scratch your head and wonder. In Alaska it’s this: it is illegal to tether a dog to the roof of your car. Although unusual, it’s probably a good law for the dog and for your car roof.
At Fix Auto, we hope you never have to file a collision report. If you do, bring your vehicle to one of our Fix Auto Alaska locations. We’ll assess the damage, provide you a complete estimate, and repair your vehicle promptly.
Fix Auto USA
We are the premier independent body shop network delivering world-class customer service and high-quality collision repairs across the U.S.
Learn About Us